July 28, 2012

Ramadan Reflections: Yaqeen

Posted in Aqidah, Character, Hadith, Islam, Knowledge, Quotes, Quran, Sufism, Taqwa, Tazkiyah tagged , , , , , , , , , at 3:56 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

This Ramadan I have a lot of goals/intentions/improvements to work on. Two involve my relationships with others and with myself. All of us have internal (spiritual) sicknesses to work on. There are many types of diseases: jealousy, hatred, despair, etc. all with their own cures. Even the process of purifying oneself and tribulation have many spiritual benefits. As I am making the resolve to work on my own sicknesses, I really blew it last night when I had a very bad argument with someone.

In the middle of the argument, the other person was criticizing of what a terrible human being I am and how I would not really make anything of my life (individually, as a Muslim, in society or as a significant other to someone, etc.). Whether or not the other person had merit in what he/she was saying, there was a very good point brought up. I am at a point in my life where I have to make decisions and act upon them to grow in all aspects of life. If I don’t really think about who I am now, it will really affect who I will be in the future.

Later in the evening I sat in my room thinking about it and I began to freak out about life. Like, “How will I help society? How will I live a meaningful life? How will I meet a significant other/get married? How will I have a family? What job do I want to have? How will I get it? What if I fail? What if everything falls apart? … What if I did nothing with my life to make God happy and help others?” It was a wonderful hour having so many fast, crazy, deep and messy thoughts slush around in my head.

Then it hit me–

My spiritual illness is the lack of Yaqeen (and tawakul, which are heavily related). Yaqeen translates to certainty, but in the Islamic context, Yaqeen means absolute, unwavering trust in God. It isn’t just something someone has, it is a state of being. Yaqeen is something very hard to achieve but is so powerful and calming when a person reaches that state of mind. Yaqeen is knowing that when you go to sleep, Allah swt will protect you, provide for you, guide you, love you, nurture you, and take care of you.

His 99 names reflect that He does take care of us. A few to name: Al Muhaymin: The Guardian, Ar Razzaq: The Provider, Al Muqeet: The Nourisher, Al Hadi: The One who Guides, Al Wadud: The Most Loving, Ar Rahman: The Most Compassionate, Ar Rahim: The Most Merciful, Al Latif: The Most Gentle/Most Kind.

In truthfulness, Yaqeen is a simple concept, but a very powerful one. Trust Allah swt. That’s it.

But sometimes our problems seem so much bigger or that because of all the mental distractions and trials, we forget that. Today, I was reminded that I am forgetting that. And now I need to be on my way to remember that. Ramadan is beautiful time for change, no?

“And put your trust in the All-Mighty, the Most Merciful.”

–Surah Ash Shuarah, Ayah 217 [26:217]

Ibn Abbas reported: I was behind the Messenger of Allah, peace be upon him, one day when he said to me, “O boy! I will teach you some words. Be mindful of Allah and He will protect you. Be mindful of Allah and you will find Him before you. When you ask, ask from Allah; and when you seek help, seek help from Allah. Know that if the entire creation were to gather together to benefit you, then would not benefit you except if Allah willed. And if the entire creation gathered together to harm you, they would not harm you except if Allah willed. The pens have been raised and the pages dried.”

–[Sunan At-Tirmidhi, Book 35, Number 2516, Hasan Sahih]

(source: Daily Hadith Online )

4 Comments »

  1. MuslimAtHeart said,

    I think it’s important to remember that we are not all perfect and the ‘issue/problem/criticism’ that the person you were talking to brought up perhaps have the same fears/thoughts that he/she was pointing out to you. It wasn’t the best way to criticize, but it is something that should be known to everyone. You’re not a terrible human being, as isn’t anyone necessarily, however, you are human. And that why we are here, to discover how we can make the best of ourselves with everything and lack thereof we are given.

    I was talking to someone else briefly and he said that how he was could be better. I asked how. He responded with, “In general I need a better life in every aspect.” I almost didn’t know how to respond, but then I knew that the only answer I could give is, “Like everybody.”

    Yaqeen

    And I love the last quote !

  2. sufi ananda said,

    786…Ramadan Mubarak…may Allah answer all of your duas this Ramadan…sufi ananda

  3. Allah knows best! If somebody critize you. Don’t bottle it up, look up to Allah and ask him if he listens to what the person have just said, and keep your head up!

  4. Umair said,

    Subhan Allah what a beutiful blog… Reading it brings a certain hadith to mind about Yaqeen.

    “If only you relied on Allah a true reliance, He would provide sustenance for you just as He does the birds: They fly out in the morning empty and return in the afternoon with full stomachs.”

    Ahmad, An-Nasaa’I, Ibn Majah, Al-Hakim and At-Tirmidhi who said: “Hassan sahih”


Leave a Reply

