July 24, 2012

My Poems: Divine Weather

Posted in Islam, Poetry tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 11:38 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

It is a lovely Ramadan evening and I guess I felt like writing a poem in under 10 minutes. I thought about tweaking it to fit the meter better, but I feel like keeping it the way it is now.

Note: the weather symbolism are to represent the manifestation of God’s presence in my life. I just don’t want some Muslims to think I am saying weather has Divine attributes. It does not. But God can present His Beauty through weather though.

 

Divine Weather

***

Dearest sun, blare Divine Light

In the dark chasms of my mind.

Dearest sun of the beautiful sky,

Underneath you all my troubled thoughts lie.

Dearest rain, pour God’s Mercy

In the driest droughts of my heart.

Dearest rain of spiritual delight,

I lie beneath you on this silent starry night.

Dearest wind, blow God’s love

In the most still parts of my being.

Dearest wind of God’s Kareem*,

Please blow my troubles away and

Fill me

With

God’s

Raheem**.

 

 

*Kareem: one of the 99 names of Allah. Refers to His Divine quality of generosity.

**Raheem: one of the 99 names of Allah. Refers to His Divine Quality of being the Most Merciful or Compassionate. Both names are really hard to translate accurately into English.

 

1 Comment »

  1. MuslimAtHeart said,

    😀
    This is wonderful to read on a rainy morning as the sun is trying to peek through. Good wake up poem😎


Leave a Reply

