May 10, 2012

My Epiphanies (XVIII)

Posted in Epiphanies, Faith786's Favorites, Knowledge, Social Commentary at 10:39 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

It has been some time since I have posted something in my epiphanies series, no?

Well, last Saturday I attended a college graduation in which many of my college friends just graduated.

It was profound, happy, serious, silly and beautiful. But one of my friends gave the graduation speech and he said something that really hit me close to home. (And warranted this post.)

‎”Some times doing what is best for you can be difficult and even scary…[…]

…It could have been easier, and I could have been good at it too. But I decided to do what was best for me. And that is the Dominican way–doing what is best for you.”

[on picking graduate school over being a pharmacist] –JSP

Upon hearing that, my whole life raced through my head. We can choose in life to make “easier” decisions. “Safer” decisions. Or decisions we think we “know the outcome”. But here my friend was hitting on something much bigger than our sense of security and ease–he was calling out to each person to be their *best*. To do what is best for them, regardless if it is not easy or it is risky. And life is really about the decisions we make. We have to consciously choose our paths in life. And human beings have the capacity of being good–no–*great*. The capacity of human beings is truly boundless unless we decide to put those restrictions on ourselves.

And what really fries my brain is that society, friends and even our own families will tell us to do that which is easy, has no apparent risk or has certainty in the outcome of the action, thinking those things are what is best for us. But honestly, I think God reveals to us what is best for us and we have to live up to that. Like, no one can tell you what it is. You have to find it and believe in it yourself.

So dear reader, (and I am also saying this to myself) take my friend’s words to heart. We have to do what is best for ourselves. We have to live up to our potential and where we fit in the grand universe. Take risks. Take challenges. Grow. Learn. And be who you are meant to be. =)

1 Comment »

  1. hannakardia said,

    assalam..proud to read your blog.:)


Leave a Reply

