April 28, 2012

My Poems: Twiddling Thumbs

Posted in Chemistry, Faith786's Favorites, Poetry at 11:38 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

Yesterday was my last class with some of the most wonderful friends I met in college. They are graduating and going off to do bigger and better things, but I did write this poem for them. I was lucky to have organic chem, biochem and many other courses with them. I am really grateful to meet them and all my friends. =)

***

Twiddling Thumbs

***

Twiddling their thumbs, counting letters in their head,

Smiling, thinking and wondering about words unsaid.

Writing papers, comics and tracing the universes and suns–

All of this is happening as you twiddle your thumbs.

Every time pages are folded, hugs are exchanged and eyes are rubbed,

I can see your hopes and dreams.

Every day we explore and learn I loved,

But time together now pulls at the seams.

Twiddling your thumbs, chasing [C=O] wonders in your head,

I am grateful for all the time and hours and words unsaid.

Adventures pass and a new time comes,

And all of this is happening as I am twiddling my thumbs.

*Note, the C=O was an addition from a friend reading the poem.

I hope all my friends and readers do wonderful things and are grateful for the people they know.

To the friends I dedicate this poem to specifically, I hope they always be the wonderful people they are. =)

Source: http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5243/5356710863_590aebd80e_z.jpg

Leave a Reply

