March 18, 2010

Today’s Christian Sufi Moment II

Posted in Hikams, Islam, Knowledge, Quotes, Sufism at 9:46 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I heard the following statement today from a Christian friend:

“Our bodies tell us a lot about God. I swear, today I felt my heartbeat and although I cannot explain it clearly, I can ‘hear’ it beat to God’s name. Like, a Divine rhythm.”

(Does that ring a bell from grade school?)

I remember when I was really young, someone saw me sitting quietly on the IFS hill. I was unhappy but I had nothing beneficial to say so I only said salaam and went back at looking at two specific blades of grass. The person told me that when she used to be unhappy and in solitude, she would sit and think and she could hear heart beat, “Al-lah, Al-lah, Al-lah” and she said she realized that although we think and do things and forget God, our bodies do not. They are constantly praising God. So I thought that person who said the quote reminded me of that. So that was today’s Christian Sufi Moment. =)

4 Comments »

  1. Bill Mitton said,

    Peace Be With You My Friend.
    One Day, Inchallah, the people of the book will learn to live in peace with each other.
    This below I offer as a heart’s tear for our world’s self imposed woes

    THE SCENT OF GOD
    Behind the eye
    before the mind
    where ‘feel’ and ‘see’
    are one.
    A place of
    least resistance
    all pre-conceptions
    gone.

    A void between what
    was and is
    where must and could
    both vie
    twixt wake and sleep,
    a limbo.
    Where truth barriers
    all die.

    Here within life
    molten core
    where who we are
    holds ground
    and we see ourselves
    from inside out
    that the scent of God
    is found.

    Bill Mitton

  2. Spiderman said,

    Love it! I particularly enjoy these posts… short and sweet, just like you 🙂

  3. GeniusAccordingToMyChemProf said,

    This realization is deep and profound. I probably won’t have noticed for a long time, but thankfully, I have you to enlighten me daily!

  4. Noreen said,

    Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

