January 23, 2009

My Poems: Spring Web

Posted in Poetry at 11:02 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

This is dedicated to my high school class and more specifically to Amina, Mally and Sarah for all the madness those days.

Spring Web

Spring rain and the heart is a bloom.

Flowers full and soon there is no room.

Things get lost in my head.

And sometimes I forget what I have said.

A thin film, a reflection in the sun.

A fresh spun web, thin and intricate.

Thinking of all the things I have done

And how time can make things so delicate.

I never let you know what it is, was or will be.

So much gets caught in the silence of the sea.

I never wished you trouble or harm.

I never meant you discomfort or alarm.

Laces and lines, covering the horizon view.

A web, and I am in the middle.

Oh there are so many things I wish you knew.

Life is one endless riddle.

Drops of dew on the reflecting filament.

After rain comes the burning firmament.

I wish you to be your best and free.

I hope for you the best travels over life’s silent sea.

For some reason, reading it the second time, it does not sound as gentle as I wanted it to. Ah, well,  I just never meant you trouble and I wish you the best, okay?

2 Comments »

  1. Noreen said,

    I really love this poem a lot. I can see what it is about. This idea that time passes and although I screwed up, I still wish the best. I like the web and sea symbolsm. The web about how fragile, intricate and somewhat beautiful relationships can be. And in the rain (mercy) you can appreciate the web more (because you can see the drops). The sea is a metaphor of life and saying it is silent is either refering it to be a ‘silent’ metaphor or that there are so many things left unsaid that it is lost in the ‘silence’ of the sea.

    A wonderful poem about relationships and I love how you ended it. I love the imagery and I think it sounds very gentle. It is up there with your Secret Friend poem. Nice.

  2. faith786 said,

    Umm, nice explication? You did touch upon some things I intended when I wrote it, but I think the message of the poem is a little more than my last couplet. I like hearing other people’s opinions, so thank you for telling me what you got out of it!

    And I am glad that you think my poems are a lot better than what they really are.😄 But they are the few verses or expressions of the heart. I hope I improve soon!


Leave a Reply

