December 31, 2008

Sufi Quotes!

Posted in Aqidah, Character, Epiphanies, Faith786's Favorites, Hadith, Islam, Knowledge, Literature, Poetry, Quotes, Sufism, Taqwa, Tazkiyah at 5:38 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum!

I have been reading my books and I found some of the most amazing Sufi poems/quotes/proverbs that I HAD to share. (I’ll add to the list as I continue reading.) I hope you enjoy them and get closer to Allah swt! (Oh some of the quotes are from the internet, but these quotes are meant for educational purposes as I can imagine the speakers would want us to learn from them.)

Open to me, so that I may open.
Provide me Your inspiration
So that I might see mine.

-–Rumi

I searched for God and found only myself. I searched for myself and found only God.

-–Sufi Proverb

There wouldn’t be such a thing as counterfeit gold if there were no real gold somewhere.

-–Sufi Proverb

If you make intense supplication
and the timing of the answer is delayed,
do not despair of it.
His reply to you is guaranteed;
but in the way He chooses,
not the way you choose,
and at the moment He desires,
not the moment you desire.

–Ibn Ata’llah (I need to do a seperate post for him)
Give yourself a rest from managing!
When Someone Else is doing it for you,
don’t you start doing it for yourself!

–Ibn Ata’llah

Actions are merely propped-up shapes.
Their life-breath is the presence of the secret of sincerity in them.

–Ibn Ata’llah

A feeling of discouragement when you slip up
is a sure sign that you put your faith in deeds.

–Ibn Ata’llah

Aspiration which rushes on ahead
cannot break through the walls of destiny.

–Ibn Ata’llah

One of the signs of relying on one’s own deeds is the loss of hope when a downfall occurs.

–Ibn Ata’llah (Okay, I seriously need to do a post about his hikams.)

To your mind feed understanding,
to your heart, tolerance and compassion.
The simpler your life, the more meaningful.
The less you desire of the world,
the more room you will have in it
to fill with the Beloved.

Shaykh Abu Saeed Abil Kheir

The life of the heart is knowledge; so preserve it,
The death of the heart is ignorance; so avoid it.

Your best provision is true devotion; so provide it.
This advice of mine is enough for you; so heed it.

–Imam Al Ghazali

O Lord…
Once I wanted You so much
I didn’t even dare walk past Your house
And now
I am not even worthy to be let in

–Rabia Al-Adawiyah ( AND I NEED TO DO A SEPERATE BLOG FOR HER)

With my Beloved I alone have been,
When secrets tenderer than evening airs
Passed, and the Vision blest
Was granted to my prayers,
That crowned me, else obscure, with endless fame;
The while amazed between
His Beauty and His Majesty
I stood in silent ecstasy
Revealing that which o’er my spirit went and came.
Lo, in His face commingled
Is every charm and grace;
The whole of Beauty singled
Into a perfect face
Beholding Him would cry,
‘There is no God but He, and He is the most High.’

~Rabia Al-Adawiyah

Let me hide in You
From everything that distracts me from You,
From everything that comes in my way
When I want to run to You.

–Rabia Al-Adawiyah

And of course, one of my favorites–

May God steal from you all that steals you away from Him.

–Rabia Al-Adawiyah

34 Comments »

  1. Noreen said,

    This is probably one of the best posts on your blog. I love ALL the quotes here. But I have to admit it is funny that you have a post right after this about a slightly inappropriate book. (I trust it is educational, I just find it funny)😄.

    But I like Ibn At’allah a lot. Do you have a book by him?

  2. Reehana said,

    Asalaam Alaykum,

    I came across your blog whilst looking for some inspiration, and would like to offer my congratulations on providing a great blogsite.
    Would you be interested in writing a feature on Women in Sufism for our magazine?

    If you are interested, could you please email email me at: imanmagazine@mail.com

    Our website should go live in two weeks, and you’ll also be able to leave comments and feedback on the site.

    Thanks

    Reehana

  3. Tito said,

    I like the quotes a lot. Very touching and spiritual. I love the last quote a lot and I like how it is the tag line of your blog.

  4. tahera said,

    asalaamu alaikum.
    love the wisdom in this sight.
    just a thought. it does not seem /feel right to attribute stealing to Almighty”
    due to the different understandings of people.
    maybe better to say “may Almighty (remove or take) from you all that (removes/take you from him). co’s in reality nothing steals you away without your permission and choice.

    sister in islam

  5. bambang setiadi said,

    nice. very nice.

  6. dauda abubakar said,

    i hope she is not saying that out of ignorance. nubelivable!

  7. Shehryar Suhael said,

    The quotes are truly inspirational, and I am hungry for more !

  8. taslim said,

    salaam,
    I really appreciate your work sufism is the real islam and you help all of us to find the right path.
    Fiamaanlilah

  9. Raj said,

    Hey, was just surfing on net for sufi quotes, and somehow came to ur page…and yeh even though i dont know u and stuff…i read some of ur posts and all i can say is..U…….God bless! umm..U rock?..LOL TAKE CARE!!

  10. shadab qayoom said,

    “IF words come out of the heart, they will enter the heart, but if they come from the tongue, they will not pass beyond the ears”

  11. Mansi Arora said,

    i really like these quotes, can you please suggest me how can i get an access to more quotes.

  12. Wasim Mohammed said,

    I love SUFI Quotes, Poems and all

  13. amir ahmed said,

    a good collection…..

  14. Ayesha Quadri said,

    Assalamu Alaikum WR WB!

    Subhanallah! very inspiring. May ALLAH SWT bless you to keep up the good work – Aameen!

    Ayesha Quadri

  15. Abdulmalik said,

    God reward u abundantly.

  16. sufism quotes are touching, quite inspirational and absolutely spiritual. Thanks a lot.

  17. Rehza said,

    I have been touching by this quotes “I searched for God and found only myself. I searched for myself and found only God.” becase my sheik is always teaching me this kind of feeling

  18. musa abdullahi said,

    the poems are quite good

  19. Newton Saha said,

    A true GURU can help one to know oneself.

  20. Newton Saha said,

    sufism is one of the fundamental things that everybody should practice.

  21. Srinivas Reddy, Madanapalle, AP said,

    Dear Friend
    my heart drenched, head nodded in tune to quotes … yes… yes.. feel… the essence…. smell the fragrance … there is no other way

  22. Rabia said,

    What sufi poets taught, was to realize God through Love, where beloved was God Himself. Whenever I read the sufi poems I wonder how it feels to be in Love they taught, they must be the happiest people on earth because they had there beloved with them all through out before and after dying. What people experience on earth is merely a shadow of love. The highest form or rather the only form is this, the platonic love.

    one poem I read:

    “Love came and spread like blood in my veins and the skin of me.
    It filled me with the HIM and completely emptied me.
    He has taken over all parts of my existence.
    only my name remains, as all is He”

    Go for http://www.poetseers.org/
    they have rather very good collection of poems by sufi saints.

  23. tony said,

    Great sufi quotes you bothered to post.
    Check out Avatar Mehet Baba if you have not already done so.

  24. Soulja said,

    I enjoyed reading those.. they were fantastic🙂

  25. Feroz Shah said,

    breath taking quotes

  26. redwanislamorittro said,

    Great post. Thanks for sharing with everyone🙂

  27. Azeez said,

    Very nice

  28. dé Nasrul said,

    Thaks 4 ur this great collection!

  29. Iqbal Syed said,

    I always believe what you want that you Achieve, and Sufism is just convene that massage we all have an single direction its cant have mean we belong from which religious because way of journey may are different but ultimately Destination is same…
    Syed Iqbal

  30. eemane said,

    Maashaallaah nice quotes….May Allaah reward you in this world and in the next….

  31. bernard jilhani said,

    quotations are made from the pure heart,
    no one made spiritual quotation without taste it,
    because knowledges are so limited and it can never explain the essence of taste so those who do not taste can`t understand what is it

  32. Nayma said,

    wonderful~Sufiism is Indeed always Impressive and precious to heart..

  33. najib said,

    They’re the friends of allah so salaam to you for sharing the words of our teachers

    FEAR WASTED ME
    YEARNING CONSUMED ME
    LOVE BEGUILED ME
    ALLAH REVIVED ME

  34. Rasheed said,

    assalaamu alaikum
    Thanks to the tru


Leave a Reply

