October 11, 2008

An Older Secret Friend

Posted in Knowledge, Literature, Poetry at 6:01 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I have a mini poem (that was never completed) for an older secret friend. If I told you who she was, Sarah might go crazy. (No, it is not you, Sarah–you are not a SECRET friend….)

We never said hello or good bye.

I hope someday before we die,

Our severed bonds be retied,

And no longer will we ask the question why.

Remove the words ‘you and me,’

Sing to the rhythm of the ‘we;’

Let the truth finally come to be,

The love between us that we cannot see.

I was reading 1984 off the internet and I remembered the telescreens, the microphones and all that good stuff the Party used to monitor everything of the people. I also remembered how the media, propaganda, Winston distorting the written articles, the two minute hate to get people excited, and the misuse of photos in that book and how everything that was true was twisted before anyone could do anything about it. Man, I love that book now more than ever.

Leave a Reply

