July 24, 2008

King Lear Quotes!

Posted in Literature, Quotes at 4:54 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

How do I state this? I. LOVE. KING. LEAR. AMAZING PLAY. The one Shakespeare tragedy that actually made me cry.

Anyway, enough sappiness. This is a small culmination of King Lear quotes. Don’t understand them? Post a comment. ***SPOILER WARNING***

He’s mad, that trusts in the tameness of a wolf, a horse’s health, a boy’s love, or a wh*re’s oath.

Wisdom and goodness to the vile seem vile:
Filths savour but themselves. King Lear.

Unhappy that I am, I cannot heave
My heart into my mouth: I love your majesty
According to my bond; nor more nor less.

We have seen the best of our time: machinations, hollowness, treachery, and all ruinous disorders, follow us disquietly to our graves.

Unhappy that I am, I cannot heave
My heart into my mouth: I love your majesty
According to my bond; nor more nor less.

Howl, howl, howl, howl! O! you are men of stones:
Had I your tongues and eyes, I’d use them so
That heaven’s vaults should crack. — She’s gone for ever! —
I know when one is dead, and when one lives;
She’s dead as earth.

The weight of this sad time we must obey;
Speak what we feel, not what we ought to say.
The oldest hath borne most: we that are young
Shall never see so much, nor live so long.

They may seem mundane or stupid, but I think that they do tap into some serious issues of reality. There are some others I would want to add, but you would have to read the whole conversation to get them. This was really a sad play, but I felt it spoke a lot about some of the realities of nature and human relationship. Anyway, this post is primarily for King Lear fans and I hope you enjoy the quotes!

Leave a Reply

