July 24, 2008

Dearest Amina >=D

Posted in Faith786's Favorites, Quotes at 3:10 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I do not know if I am posting this because my mind does weird things three in the morning, but I cannot help but laugh whenever I read this because I feel like Amina is actually meeting the main character, Locke, from my book. Anyway, if you do not understand what I am talking about, I am writing a book a book in which I include a character that is very similar to a friend of mine with her name. Amina, this passage is for you, but the other scenes with Amina in the book are not exactly like you:

…He released the dead vine from his hand outside the window and the crumpled leaves drifted slowly to the ground, “Was this fate? Fate that we met and departed? Fate we swore against the war and now part of it? Fate, it seems, is not without a sense of irony.”

Locke could not stand the presence of his room much longer and decided to go to the remains of the great tree in the main plaza. It was quiet; an enigmatic silence, for many people were around, but no one was talking. Locke sat near the burnt trunk as the benches were all taken. A student-soldier approached him and sat near him on the grass, “Hello, Commander Locke.”

Locke signaled a greeting back without saying any words. The student-soldier continued, “My name is Amina. I helped with the defense when Cyeon came.”

Locke kept his eyes focused on a few blades of grass, “…Thanks.”

Amina smiled, “Many of us are feeling very down about the war, myself included, but you seem the worst of us all, Commander.”

“Please do not call me that.”

“Okay…Sir Locke. But I was wondering if there is anything we could do for you.”

“I am fine,” Locke answered hastily. He was not in a mood to speak to anyone. The young lady persisted in continuing the conversation, regardless of his impudent behavior towards her, “I am sorry for bothering you, but do you have any words for me? I feel like this war is taking so much from me and I do not really know what to do.”

Locke appeared stoic although he was irate, “Find something to believe in, something that you hold dear to yourself. When you do, pass it on to the future. It will give you a sense of direction.”

Amina had a hint of optimism in her small voice, “Believe in what?”

“That is your problem.”

Locke and Key (Tentative Title)

The scene itself is not that funny, but to picture Amina talking with Locke is hilarious. That, or maybe I am just sleepy. Anyway, back to reading this explication of surah Kawthar. It has a lot of high vocab words, so I don’t know if I will do a post on it….

Anyway, tell me what you think of the passage. And I am still taking theme requests because apparently my book is going to be longer than I anticipated because I have adjusted the story a little bit.

*I learned how to quote! Yay!*

Oh, and if Amina is reading this, this is not The Matrix scene. LOL.

4 Comments »

  1. faith786 said,

    Oh, and the dumb paragraphs won’t indent, and wordpress keeps skipping lines. Sorry. And this is all a rough draft, so I know my vocab/voice/word usage sucks.

  2. Noreen said,

    Haha. Locke sounds like an interesting character.

  3. Amina said,

    I love it…i really can’t wait to read the entire thing!! 🙂

  4. faith786 said,

    Lying is haraam. But even if you are, now I have to finish it. Even if it is trash.

    Btw, I love the shaytaani smiley


Leave a Reply

