July 18, 2008

Islamic Poetry: Hafiz’s Poems from I Heard God Laughing–Poems of Hope and Joy

Posted in Faith786's Favorites, Islam, Literature, Poetry, Quotes, Sufism, Tazkiyah at 5:00 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I am still adoring these poems, so I’ll keep sharing them. These are Hafiz’s poems from I heard God Laughind–Poems of Hope and Joy. It is also a wonderful collection of poetry that reminds me of my relationship with God. I hope you love these poems as much as I do! The first poem I have already dedicated to Sarah:

My Brilliant Image

One day
the sun admitted,

I am just a shadow.

I wish I could show you

The infinite Incandescence

That had cast my brilliant image!

I wish I could show you,

When you are lonely or in darkess,

The Astonishing Light

Of your own Being!

Would You Think It Odd?

Would you think it odd if Hafiz said,

“I am in love with every church

And mosque

and temple

And any kind of shrine

Because I know it is there

That people say the different names

Of the One God.”

Would you tell your friends

I was a bit strange if I admitted

I am indeed in love with every mind

And heart and body.

O I am sincerely

Plumb crazy

About your every thought and yearning

And limb

Because, my dear,

I know

That it is through these

That you search for Him.

Why Carry?

Hafiz,

Why carry a whole load of books

Upon your back

Climbing this mountain,

When tonight,

Just a few thoughts of God

Will light the holy fire.

Someone Should Start Laughing

I have a thousand brilliant lies

For the question:

How are you?

I have a thousand brilliant lies

For the question:

What is God?

If you think that the Truth can be known

From words,

If you think that the Sun and the Ocean

Can pass through that tiny opening

Called the mouth,

O someone should start laughing!

Someone should start wildly Laughing—

Now!

A Golden Compass

Forget every idea of right and wrong

Any classroom ever taught you

Because

An empty heart, a tormented mind,

Unkindness, jealousy and fear

Are always the testimony

You have been completely fooled!

Turn your back on those

Who would imprison your wonderous spirit

With deceit and lies.

Come, join the honest company

Of King’s beggars—

Those gamblers, scoundrels and divine clowns

And those astonishing fair courtesans

Who need Divine Love every night.

Come, join the courageous

Who have no choice

But to bet their entire world

That indeed,

indeed, God is Real.

I will lead you into the Circle

Of Beloved’s cunning thieves,

Those playful royal rogues—

The ones you can trust for true guidance—

Who can aid you

In this Blessed Calamity of life

Hafiz,

Look at the Perfect One

At the Circle’s Center:

He Spins and Whirls like a Golden Compass,

Beyond all that is Rational,

To show this dear worlds

That Everything,

Everything in Existence

Does point to God.

Every Movement

I rarely let the word “No” escape

From my mouth

Because it is so plain to my soul

That God has shouted, “Yes! Yes! Yes!”

To every luminous movement in Existence.

Something Invisible

Once I asked my Master

“What is the difference

Between you and me?”

And he replied,

“Hafiz, only this:

If a herd of wild buffalo

Broke into our house

And knocked over

Our empty begging bowls,

Not a drop would spill from yours.

But there is Something Invisible

That God had placed in mine.

If That spilled from my bowl,

It could drown the whole world.”

Strange Miracle

O Wondrous creatures,

By what strange miracle

Do you so often

Not smile?

Forever Dance

I am happy even before i have a reason.

I am full of Light even before the sky

Can greet the sun or moon.

Dear companions,

We have been in love with God

For so very, very long.

What can Hafiz now do but Forever

Dance!

12 Comments »

  1. faith786 said,

    I would like to say about any and all poems I put up, that they should not be taken for face value. I have contemplated about these poems for a long time and grew to love them after thinking about them. So I ask for you to take a moment and think about them too! =)

  2. nosheen said,

    Assalamu Alaikum!!!

    I was js surfing the net nd i came accross dis site..i spent a good hour reading thru it al n js wntd2 say mashallah you have dun a great job and inshallah the good work will carry on!! =)

    Thot id let u know..!!

    Wassalam!

  3. leila said,

    hi.
    i need the compleetlt poem of your translation with subject of: “the sun never says to the earth…. ” .
    Please inform me that this interest poem, is from which of hafiz poem.
    Thanx .
    Bye

  4. Hello!

    Every time I read these poems I’m happy. Every time I find somebody else is posting these and sharing them, it makes me feel that people all around the world are connected in a way that makes politics look like kids fighting on a playground.

    Thanks.

  5. derin said,

    could you give any infortmation about hafiz?

    … ı really liked her poems.they are very impressive.

  6. David said,

    I love Hafiz, and he is my favorite poet in the whole world. I just bought
    “The Gift” which are more poems by Hafiz translated by Daniel Ladinsky. I also have “I heard God Laughing” and I dearly love both books. Hafiz was, in my opinion, a Perfect Master and a perfect poet, a rare combination which we can still delight in some 700 years later.

  7. Here’s a link to an English-language biography of Hafiz. There are a number of others, however.

    http://www.poetseers.org/the_poetseers/hafiz/

    Here’s another, which presents the information about his life as a time line:

    http://www.hafizonlove.com/bio/index.htm

  8. GeniusAccordingToMyChemProf said,

    I love love love the poem “Would you Think it Odd?”!!! ❤

  9. A friend recently recommended the book to me, so I thought I would Google it and I came across your site with these delicious samples. Thank you! Thank you!

  10. afghan girl said,

    good job, allah bless all of us.

  11. girlsrbetterthan said,

    Thank you for posting his poems. I found the book “I heard God Laughing” in a small coffee shop and felt the sweet heart of Hafitz speaking to mine across space and time makingt me laugh. This is surely a treasure I have found. Thank you for posting…

  12. kladionice said,

    whoah this blog is excellent i really like reading your articles. Stay up the good paintings! You realize, lots of individuals are hunting around for this information, you could help them greatly.


Leave a Reply

