July 18, 2008

Islamic Poetry: Hafiz Poems from The Gift (I)

Posted in Faith786's Favorites, Islam, Literature, Poetry, Sufism, Tazkiyah at 4:26 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I have been feeling ill as of late, so I have been trying to read to pass this sick feeling in my stomach. And so I came across The Gift, a culmination of poems by Hafiz. Just reading those poems felt like God was healing me through Hafiz’s words. I feel like every time I read Hafiz’s poems, this old love within me rekindles for God. I hope these do for you too. some of these poems may have already been on my blog, but I love them so much that I have to re-share them again. Again, these are from Hafiz’s The Gift:

My Eyes So Soft

Don’t

Surrender

You Loneliness so quickly.

Let it cut more

Deep.


Let it ferment and season you

As few human

Or even divine ingredients can.


Something missing in my heart tonight

Has made my eyes so soft,

My voice so

Tender,


My need of God

Absolutely

Clear.


Until

I think we are frightened every

Moment of our lives

Until we

Know

Him.

Then Winks

Everything is clapping today,

Light,

Sound,

Motion,

All movement.

A rabbit I pass pulls a cymbal

From a hidden pocket

Then winks.

This causes a few planets and I

To go nuts

And start grabbing each other.

Someone sees this

Calls a

Shrink,

Tries to get me

Committed

For

Being too

Happy.

Listen: this world is the lunatic’s sphere,

Don’t always agree it’s real,

Even with my feet upon it

And the postman knowing my door

My address is somewhere else.

How Fascinating

How

Fascinating the idea of death

Can be.

Too bad, though,

Because

It just isn’t

True.

Buttering the Sky

Slipping

On my shoes,

Boiling water,

Toasting bread,

Buttering the sky:

That should be enough contact

With God in one day

To make anyone

Crazy.

The God Who Only Knows Four Words

Every

Child

Has Known God,

Not the God of names,

Not the God of don’ts,

Not the God who does

Anything Weird,

But the God who only knows four words

And keeps repeating them, saying:

“Come Dance with Me.”

Come

Dance.

This Sky

This

Sky

Where we live

Is no place to lose your wings

So love, love,

Love.

Everywhere

Running

Through the streets

Screaming

Throwing rocks through windows,

Using my own head to ring

Great bells,

Pulling out my hair

Tearing off my clothes,

Tying everything I own

To a stick,

And setting it on

Fire.

What else can Hafiz do tonight

To celebrate the madness,

The Joy,

Of seeing God

Everywhere!

The Stairway of Existence

We

Are not

In pursuit of formalities

Or fake religious

Laws,

For through the stairway of existence

We have come to God’s

Door.

We are

People who need love, because

Love is the soul’s life,

Love is simply creation’s greatest joy.

Through

The stairway of existence,

O, through the stairway of existence, Hafiz,

Have

You now come,

Have we all come to

The Beloved’s

Door.

The Sun Never Says

Even

After

All this time

The sun never says to the earth,


“You owe

Me.”

Look

What happens

With a love like that,

It lights the

Whole

Sky.

3 Comments »

  1. aischa said,

    Wa alaikum salaam,
    Just coming back to your blog. Oh! Hafiz is really gifted, it touches my heart to read Hafiz, and I HATE poetry. I think you have Daniel Ladinsky’s translation right? My favorite short one is:

    If worry proves
    such an unlucrative business,
    Why not find a better job?

    (From memory….) I wonder how Hafiz reads in the original ? Persian?? Sorry if I got his original language wrong…
    Ahhhhh, Hafiz!

  2. faith786 said,

    That sounds wonderful. For me, poetry is nothing bit what it means. So if a poetry sounds all cute, I do not like it unless there is depth to it. But style does matter–old English poetry drives me up the wall.

    His poetry is in classical Persian and I have too many favorites, but right now I love:

    God shouts yes yes yes! to every luminous moment of existence (it is in one of my posts)

    Thanks for stopping by again.

  3. Mazhar Basha said,

    A touching poetry full of eternal truth, in this materialism and formal form of belief we need to understand Hafiz’s poetry

    a


Leave a Reply

