July 8, 2008

Random Notes From a Really Old Lecture-Kindness

Posted in Aqidah, Character, Islam, Islamic Lectures, Tazkiyah at 9:08 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I do not know where these notes are from, but they are dated back to 2003, which is quite old if you ask me.

I do not remember who was the speaker or where it was, so I cannot prove these are valid notes, but I think they are beneficial, nevertheless.

  • A Muslim can’t be considered a Muslim unless there is kindness in his/her heart.
  • Kindness leads to Ihsaan
  • Allah is the Most Kind and Rasulullah represented the best human kindness and we should try to emulate that.
  • To be kind should be effortless; it should come from us easily, like flowing silk[???]
  • Kindness is not just through words an actions; it is a kind of thinking-not only doing good, but being good. Similar with kindness: we should not only do/say kind things, we should be kind.
  • Kindness can be as small as smiling at someone, or be as big as saving a person’s life.
  • Kindness can be in everything you do-helping someone with their homework, complimenting someone at work or giving a small piece (of good) advice.
  • Kindness is a special quality of Allah because it is in Bismillahir Rahmanir Rahim.
    • Rahman and Rahim–>they represent an internal and external kindness (to put it simply, but much more complex)
    • They are part of bismillah, which are considered two of the most important attributes to Allah, so we should value them too
  • Kindness should reflect in manners–Let the proportion of good deeds and manners (Kindness) be like salt and flour.
  • By being kind, it draws you closer to Allah and will help you improve in other aspects of your life.
  • Just try saying kind things and they will lead to your actions, which will lead to your character.
  • If you do something mean, don’t let that stop you from doing something kind the next time.
  • Remember, every bit of kindness you try to show and be, it is all for the sake of Allah [I wish the speaker mentioned this first or I wish I wrote this first.]

So those are my very brief notes. (I personally like how it is concise.) But I do believe they are powerful and I hope you (and I!) benefited from them! Ameen!

2 Comments »

  1. Mally said,

    I like this point: “Just try saying kind things and they will lead to your actions, which will lead to your character.”

  2. faith786 said,

    I like:

    If you do something mean, don’t let that stop you from doing something kind the next time.

    I am the kind of person that needs that extra step, so I felt that struck me. But at the same time, it sounds too cheesy, which I guess is like me.


Leave a Reply

