July 2, 2008

My Epiphanies (VIII)

Posted in Epiphanies, Islam, Knowledge, Literature at 1:34 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

Hmmm… trying to figure out how to let this one out.

So I am getting my rear kicked in summer school. And I haven’t nerved out about a project for about two years?(?) and last weekend I was going nuts about one that was worth a FAT chunk of my grade. But then I realized I was reconditioning what I was trying to get out of my mind. It doesn’t matter and if it does, that means that there is some internal poison within me. There is a difference between caring to do well for the sake of Allah and going bonkers on it. Even if my whole grade depended on that project, it shouldn’t “nerve me out.”

Allah controls our grades, and the only part we control is effort. Do our best without compromising Allah and He’ll take care of the rest. it isn’t an issue of paying too much attention to the dunyah and not enough on Allah, but it is an issue of trust that Allah will take care of us and knows what is best for us. I apologize for making the mistake of clouding my own judgment.

and this doesn’t apply to just such subtle things as grades, but work, being in an argument with a friend, *getting married*, your career, which school you go to, and even buying new shoes. Trust Allah and everything else will vanish.

Imam Al Ghazali once said (can’t remember which book) but after great contemplation, one will realize that the only thing that matters is Allah and you. Everything is only a medium or obstruction to Allah.

Now I feel really crumby about going nutters over that dumb project.

OH! AND I AM STARTING MY OWN ORGANIZATION AGAINST NCLB (No child left behind act-HUGE LIE) AND WE ARE GOING TO GET PROPER EDUCATION FOR EVERYONE, EVERYWHERE FOR THE SAKE OF ALLAH! …INSHA’ ALLAH!

I had to add that. I am looking for positions: campaign manager, CEO, vice-president, advisers, PR, publicity, etc.

***Sorry that this sounds like my other epiphanies, but I think there is something distinct about this one, particularly towards grades. I don’t know….***

2 Comments »

  1. sososyed said,

    Very true. I like the mixture of Islam and literature in your blog. But do you have any more Islamic lectures or posts you plan on putting up?

  2. faith786 said,

    Thank you.

    I have not attended any Islamic lectures as of late, so that is why my blog has been tilting towards the literature end. I have found some very old notes from a lecture a years ago and I plan on putting that up. I am also reading The Alchemist, and I have been thinking of doing a post on the Islamic links in it.

    But if a friend of mine, who knows who she is, would be willing to lend me her book on the Remembrance of Death and the Afterlife, I would be happy to do a post on that.

    I apologize for not updating my blog with Islamic posts and I will try to work on that. Thank you for letting me know!


Leave a Reply

