June 20, 2008

My Summer Book List! [2008]

Posted in Islam, Islamic Books, Literature at 3:18 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I am currently absorbed in the concepts of light and sound-it might be an epiphany. Haha.

Well, Spiderman asked me to make a book list, so here is a briefly sketched up one for you guys. This book list is for ages 16+.

IR=Islamic Rating

PR=Personal Rating

DL=Difficultly level (in both comprehension and style of writing) (higher number=easier)

Islamic Texts:

Quran translation by Muhammad Farooq-i-Azam Malik ***I know it is not one of the best translations, but it is excellent for reading the Quran to simply understand the meaning in a relatively easy way. I would say start with this translation and move on to Muhammad Asad, Yusuf Ali, etc. And I know there is controversy over the translations, but that is a good one to simply start off with.*** IR: 100/10 PR: 100/10 DL: 9/10

Kimiya-I-Sa’adat, by Imam Al Ghazali ***Warning: Women chapters you should check by a scholar*** IR: 10/10 PR: 10/10 DL= 7/10 (Comprehension, not language)

Attributes of God, by Imam Al Jawzi (???) IR: 10/10 PR: 9/10 DL: 7/10

The Vision of Islam, by Something Chittick IR: 10/10 PR: 8/10 DL: 8/10

The Rose Garden, by Sa’di IR: 10/10 PR: 10/10 DL: 9/10

Classical Literature:

1984, by George Orwell IR: 6/10 (Because of two lines) PR:10/10 DL: 9/10

Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen IR: 9/10 PR: 9/10 DL: 6/10

Emma, by Jane Austen IR: 9/10 (Love novels, I suppose) PR: 9/10 DL: 6/10

The Awakening, by Kate Chopin IR: 6/10 PR: 9/10 DL: 9/10

King Lear, by William Shakepeare IR: 5/10 PR: 9/10 DL: 3/10

Hamlet, by William Shakespeare IR: 5/10 PR: 8/10 DL: 3/10

Jude the Obscure, by Thomas Hardy IR: 5/10 PR: 6/10 DL: 7/10 (But it was very thought provoking)

Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo IR: 7/10 PR: 8/10 DL: 6/10

Candide, by Voltaire IR: 6/10 PR: 9/10 DL: 9/10 ***Read background of history before reading book-becomes 10xs more funny

(I am nearly in tears remembering AP LIt, moving on-)

Intelligent books (not scholarly, but educational):

The Power of Myth, by Joseph Campbell IR: 7/10 (two passages) PR: 10/10 DL: 7/10 (Comprehension is hard, reading is easy)

Amusing Ourselves to Death, by Neil Postman IR: 9/10 PR:9/10 DL: 8/10

How to Read a Book, by Mortimer Adler (???) IR: 7/10, PR: 7/10 DL: 7/10 (Comprehension)

I am not thinking straight—

Random other books:

Kiterunner, by Khalid Housseni IR: 8/10 PR: 9/10 DL:10/10 (This is argued to be literature—)

Religious Literacy, by Stephen Prothero IR: 8/10 PR: 8/10 DL: 10/10

How to Read Literature Like a Professor, by Thomas Foster IR: 4/10 (Two chapters you hae to skip, otherwise it is fine) PR: 9/10 DL: 10/10

Calvin and Hobbes= my life (Cartoon comic book)

The Giving Tree

Think of more later…

My Reading List (as of Right now):

Read the translation of the Quran at least once, if I can twice.

Reread Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte

Tenant of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Bronte

The Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens and another Dickens book.

The pile of Thomas Hardy books on my desk.

Reread The Alchemist, by Paulo Coehlo

The Fa’la book by Shaykh Husain Sattar

Walden, by henry David Thoreau

Reread Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

The two Ahmad Sakr books I have on my dresser

Divine Comedy, by I forgot and I intended to read that last summer

Some of Emerson’s Essays

Riyaad us Saleheen

Get another book by Imam Al Ghazali and read it. LOL

and reread the Complete Idiot’s Guide to Critical Reading.

AND READ ALL MY BOOKS FOR MY SUMMER CLASSES. *%&$^%#@

And insha’ Allah finish writing my book. Then read a load of Austen, Brontes and Dickens before editing it. LOL.

7 Comments »

  1. aart said,

    Hello!

    I’m a big fan of Paulo Coelho! You will love this! He’s the first best-selling author to be distributing for free his works on his blog:
    http://www.paulocoelhoblog.com

    Have a nice day!

    Aart

  2. faith786 said,

    ahhhhh I forgot! I recommend The Alchemist, by Paulo Coehlo. EXCELLENT BOOk. a MUST READ. I can’t edit my post for some odd reason (internet keeps acting up when I am trying to get to my dashboard,) but that is an AMAZING BOOK. Powerful, simple, and beautiful. Up in my ratings near 1984.

  3. spiderman said,

    gracias man talk about detail! the alchemist is one of the better books ifs chose for summer reading lol i wouldnt say tis the best but better than tom sawyer…. lolol so update me with UR book hows it coming along? any idea wen it shall be finished?

  4. faith786 said,

    I am almost halfway done. I hope to finish the rough draft (meaning, just type the story out) by the end of the summer, if not, absolutely before November.

    As for the final copy (after minimum five edits) maybe the end of next year. I don’t know; Sarah is one of my editors =). And I need to read a load of books before editing, so the editing process may take awhile. I already decided I need to edit the first three chapters MAJORLY. (Like, in terms of plot/characters-but that doesn’t harm the rest of the book that much)

    I really don’t know if I will publish this book, but I need title ideas. I was thinking “Seven Suns and Moons,” but I ruled that out. You can throw out ideas. I am still accepting character/theme/conflict requests until I finish chapter 13. (I am in the middle of Chapter 10).

  5. Noreen said,

    Emma and The Awakening are good. I have read them. But I didn’t like Les Miserables. It was boring after the first chapter.

  6. spiderman said,

    how about….the odyssey
    thn ur gnna hav to add a telemachachas

  7. faith786 said,

    The Odyssey was a book I simply could not appreciate. But Telemachachas was an intriguing character, lol.

    I love Les Meiserables and I know Sarah did to. I guess people have different tastes, but I think Emma is an all time classic.


Leave a Reply

