June 9, 2008

My Epiphanies (VI)

Posted in Aqidah, Epiphanies, Islam, Knowledge, Literature, Sufism, Taqwa, Tazkiyah at 7:25 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

***I apologize ahead of time if I sound harsh on this post. Thank you.***

I have recently attended a two graduations and minus the valedictorian speeches, the rest of them, for a lack of a better word, SUCKED.

They all kept yapping how they hope the (8th and 12th) grade graduates will become successful in the world, and get great jobs and go to great colleges and get great test scores and do great things by their own determination-WRONG. And that is what is the topic of this epiphany-GOD.

I hope that anyone out there reading this post who believes in God understands and come to a full realization that after great thought and reflection, that indeed we never have a say on what “successes” happen in our lives. God willed it. If He wanted you to become a super valedictorian, with a PhD, the president of the United States and a champion football player, then by His Will, did it happen-you working your butt off is a secondary reason, but God is the primary reason.

But more importantly, this idea of “success” is one of the biggest illusions that this world has been so magnificently successful (har har) in implementing. What is success? What are goals? What is the function of school? What is the function of learning? What is the purpose of living? I must beg the question my younger and current and soon to be younger and soon to be older self will be asking-have we lost ourselves?

I hope, reader, that you have not forgotten who you are-you are the son/daughter of Adam. You are a creation from God. You are a being of feeling, thinking, learning, perception, reasoning and understanding. You are a spirit part of a body, heart and soul. You are… you are… a sign of God.

We are not meant to be prisoners of our own thoughts. We are not meant to be slaves of perception, society, and false expectations. We are not strapped by menial letters and numbers. We are not mean to be judged by a test created by beings who have imperfected themselves. We are not robots who go through school, work and death. We are not meant to only live to die-or dying to live. We are not capable of being measured, evaluated, judged, or perceived by anyone other than Allah.

We are creation by Allah-we are not meant for such a fate. We are meant to learn, to hold faith, to believe, to act out what God Wills, to get closer to Him, to LIVE! How have we deceived ourselves to such a fate as test scores, name brand colleges, getting rich, jobs, being famous and all these other forms of self indulgence? I want you, me, and every person to know that our grades, our jobs, all that we are told so hard to strive for is merely an illusion. Our education is a means to get closer to Allah. Our jobs, our work, our families, are all meant to be a channel to worship God and draw closer to Him.

If all you want is your name printed on a paper with a number or letter, that is all you can ever get, if you even get it. I want educators, leaders, parents and elders to all proclaim a message of the TRUTH. According to Shaykh Hamza’s knowledge, he said there are 4 main reasons why we live (from Agenda to Change Our Families):

  1. Obey, worship and Adore God.
  2. Cultivate the Earth.
  3. Intermingle with people
  4. Procreate.

And I add to come to worship God and to know Him.

So stop trying to deceive yourself (and myself) from thinking that all these other things actually matter. It is arrogance and materialism. We want something more than what turns to ashes. And for Sarah, we were meant to live.

13 Comments »

  1. spiderman said,

    you should have been the speaker for grad.
    i’ll recommend you
    (like my opinion matters)

  2. faith786 said,

    Aww, thank you.

    I don’t know if I would be good for the kids, but I know the speaker they had this year was not. Maybe next year? Lolz. The school would never pick me because they believe I am immature or my ideas are too radical. Maybe there is a foundation for their supposition. >=D

    I would have to admit though-I wouldn’t know exactly what to tell them because each class gets crazier than the previous.

  3. malrose9389 said,

    i can imagine you passionately delivering this speech. overall i think this is nice. i particularly liked the 5th and 6th paragraphs.

    “We are not robots who go through school, work and death.” i noticed you left out marriage and kids lol..

  4. faith786 said,

    Har har, I wrote reader, so it means that it is meant to be READ. lol. I never intended it to be a speech, but I left out marriage because that is not a part of many people’s lives as many people choose to remain single or divorce.

    But I think I made “my speech short and sweet,” no? >=D

  5. Sarah said,

    I told my mom how a couple teachers wanted you to give the 8th grade speech and she got soo excited. She really wants you to/thinks you will do a great job. As do I. Hey, you have a nice speech right here =) But I think this is more suited for 12th grade.

  6. faith786 said,

    =) I love you and your mom. I need to start an official Sarah’s mom fan club. And thanks for the compliment, darling.

  7. Noreen said,

    This is amazing! You speak the truth. I wish the government knew this too.

  8. maira said,

    I agree with you. People shouldn’t strive for success, thinking it’s merely becoming rich or having a big name in society. But then again, people shouldn’t think that, oh ok i shouldn’t go to school and study I’ll just sit in the mosque all day and I’ll be happy and successful. It’s important to work hard, but with the right intentions. Make a positive difference in the world. Help others, etc. By the way, I love your quotes section. Keep them coming

  9. missrahim said,

    I agree completely! I’m about to graduate from uni in a few weeks inshAllah and I’m just like, honestly, this is not the purpose of my creation! Ya Allah, I am not “successful” just because I get a good job, or 8 degrees, all these things are illusions and like you said, Allah provided the way for it all anyway so what can we even be so proud about. Subhannallah. Long as I have a means to take care of myself and I can spend my time meaningfully and helping others in the process, then fine. But, I think the more we get caught up in academia or careers and stuff the easier it is to fall victim to society and lose sight of the greater success in this world and the Hereafter.

  10. […] at right now (and have been for over a year) in terms of academics, post-grad plans, etc., this post basically articulates my thoughts on “success” and chasing it. “Say, “Shall […]

  11. History of Al Andalus said,

    As salaamu ‘aleykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuhu

    Forgive me for a comment not related to the post. There is an excellent new blog dedicated to a book called: *An Incomplete History: The Muslims of Spain Post 1492 in a Global Context and its Relevance to Muslims Today*

    http://historyofandalus.wordpress.com/

    The situation of the Muslims living in the West today poses a striking similarity to the situation of the Muslims in Al- Andalus post 1492 (when the last Muslim ruler surrendered the last Muslim stronghold of Granada to King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella). This marked the official end to Islamic rule in Al- Andalus. The end of Islamic rule was also marked by the Capitulations of Granada which was signed between Abu Abdullah Muhammad the Twelfth and the Spanish Crown of Castille. The agreement seemed to be made binding upon the Spanish Crown of Castille but as the reader shall see, it was broken within ten years after the agreement was put into effect.

    Muslims lived in Andalus for at least two hundred years after the fall (1492). Their lives were not easy. In many cases they were forced to give up their identities, could not practice Islam in public, they were not allowed to speak Arabic (and therefore could not pray in congregation) or even give their children Muslim names! So what began as tolerance for the practice of Islam in Al- Andalus and allowing for their affairs to be judged under Shari’ah courts (Capitulations of Granada) slowly but surely led to the persecution of the Muslims of Al-Andalus until no trace of Muslims in Andalus were to be found.

  12. asqfish said,

    Alhamdolillah!

    Allah Subhanawataala repeatedly reminds us in the Quran that we are ungrateful and should be grateful.

    Thank you for reminding us.

    It would be graceful to write and speak with the etiquette of RasoolAllah, peace and blessings be upon him, whether in rage, frustration or joy. He (pbuh) is a great role model for saying what is needed in a graceful manner and getting the message across.
    Allah knows best,
    jazaaik Allah Khair!

  13. Le Mystique said,

    Beautiful thoughts.
    Our education unfortunately, does not touch subjects of spirituality… today’s world is all about materialism which is something that results in becoming a slave to a circle of mal-contentment…
    The only question one should ask from anyone who is too much obsessed with worldly desires is ‘will you live forever to enjoy all that you have amassed?’.
    This does not mean being rich is always wrong. Hazrat Usman (RA) was rich but he made good use of his wealth.
    Intentions should be hence corrected. The canvas of one’s vision of life should be, as you rightly pointed out, much larger than things like job, bank balance etc..


Leave a Reply

