June 5, 2008

My Epiphanies (I)

Posted in Epiphanies at 12:26 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

So I was in my psych class last Thursday and I… well, I was bored and I wasn’t paying attention. My professor was talking about consciousness and dreams, and then I heard the “chemistry” and I paid attention for a minute. She said that the guy would figured out the benzene rings had a dream about snakes biting each other’s tails forming a polygon similar to a benzene ring. Then that scientist was inspired and soon figured out the benzene ring structure.

And then I thought-that was a dream. Allah swt wanted him at that particular time and point to figure out the chemical structure of benzene. That was purely by the Will of Allah. And then I thought about all the other science stuff and the halaqah I attended last week about appreciating Allah and all the scienctific proof of Allah’s mercy and then I began to have this epiphany….

All the stuff we study… is it to prove the rest of the world’s existence-or our own-or something more?

I mean, history, philosophy, math, science, literature, social studies all that stuff-it tells us more about different elements of the world. But any idiot can memorize a bunch of facts. Books we read-any idiot can memorize what it is about. All the hadiths and ayahs people memorize, by Allah’s will, they memorize them, but still, many people have memorized them. But is that their function? Did the great scholars, Imams, Shaykhs, Muftis, A’lims, Faqeers, Qazis, memorize all those things just to get a better painted picture of the world? Just for the facts themselves?

We memorize chemical and math forumlas, we read epic works of literature, we learn about events in history, memorize hadith not for the memorization of the material itself, but to enhance our minds. To make us think at a high level. To make us more aware.

Allah commanded that it is an obligation on every Muslim to seek knowledge. Why? To think at a higher level? But then in that psych class I began to realize… that all the stuff we study is to make us think at a higher level so we can begin to comprehend that everything, EVERYTHING, points to Allah. They all speak of Allah in different ways, but they all point towards Him. Our higher state of thinking helps us realize the reality of Allah and our relationship with Him.

I realized that for so long, we study all these other subjects, study everything in the universe just to learn what lies within ourselves. We think we want all these things by studying the world but in reality, all our wants and all our needs are just mischanneled wishes of what we truly want-Allah.

I don’t know if I am just ranting at this point; so much of what I am trying to get at I have left unspoken. But Ali RA really nails it in the following quote, and I guess I’ll leave my epiphany up to you to interpret after that:

“Your remedy is within you, but you do not sense it. Your sickness is from you, but you do not perceive it. You assume you are a small entity, but within you is enfolded the entire universe. You are indeed the Evident Book, by whose alphabet the Hidden becomes Manifest. Therefore you have no need to look beyond yourself. What you seek is within you, if only you reflect.”

-Ali RA

Leave a Reply

