June 5, 2008

Another Excerpt-Have We Lost Ourselves?

Posted in Character, Epiphanies, Islam, Knowledge, Quotes, Tazkiyah, Videos at 12:53 am by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I am currently *attempting* to do my annotated bibliography for my final (Sarah: You aren’t done yet?) and I opened a book underneath my desk. It was the sequel to my other journal that had the note from my younger self. The dates go back to when I was in 5th, 6th and 7th grade. Apparently at this time, my friends began to indulge themselves in many vain things, so this one particular entry was a response to them-and myself. (Pardon grammatical errors and cheesiness):

” I didn’t think 3 years ago this [self indulgence] would happen. Have we lost ourselves? I remember how I learned that people were like butterflies who grow within themselves and then sprout wings. But there is something not right. My friends act like those adults who waste themselves away. Have we lost ourselves? Aren’t we meant for so much more? I know that when the sun shines, it isn’t so we can read dumb naked magazines; I know that when the night comes, it isn’t so we can watch bad movies; there is something more than living for the next day. Why do we look forward to problems in the future, or want something we could have had in the past? What has hapened to where I stand now? Have we lost ourselves? Why do we think that all of this [media related content] is real? We don’t see these makeup dolls walking in Yorktown. We don’t see these super tall and skinny people in Jewel? Even still, we *think* this is real. We think we are so superior…. I keep hearing how people say God doesn’t exist. But the idea that we are here PROVES His existence. Actually, it is more likely that we aren’t real. We know God is real; we know He HAS to exist. The idea there is creation proves there must be a Creator. But we don’t see Him in this world, so it is possible we are the ilusion and He is the reality. We can be simple images on a mirror-we reflect what is real, but we ourselves aren’t real. But still! We are meant for so much more! Have we lost ourselves? Our souls are real, but we can’t touch it. It is possible that is real and our bodies aren’t. And anyway, we die and our spirits remain. So we only live for our spirit. We live so it can grow, so it can bloom, so it can finally be ready to meet God. We were meant to live.”

And here is Shaykh Hamza Yusuf’s take on it [towards the end-YAY I learned how to insert videos!]:

Leave a Reply

