May 22, 2008

Surah Fatihah

Posted in Hadith, Islam, Knowledge, Quran at 2:11 pm by faith786

I typed a post earlier about the virtues of Bismillahir Rahmanir Rahim, well I want to *touch* on surah Fatihah (Fait7ah). I don’t think I can ever be comprehensive about the virtues and blessings of it, I don’t even think a scholar can, but I can list some stuff that I have read in books, online and heard at lectures-

One the blessings of surah Fatihah that struck me was that when a person recites it, Allah swt replies back to each verse (According to hadith QUDSI).

بِسْمِ اللّهِ الرَّحْمـَنِ الرَّحِيم

When a person says: In the Name of God, the All Merciful the Compassionate.

Allah replies: My servant mentions Me.

 الْحَمْدُ للّهِ رَبِّ الْعَالَمِين   

When a person says: Praise be to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds.

Allah replies: My servant lends Me grace.

الرَّحْمـنِ الرَّحِيم

When a person says: The All Merciful, the Compassionate.

Allah replies: My servant praises Me.

 مَـالِكِ يَوْمِ الدِّين

When a person says: Master of the Day of Judgment

Allah replies: My servant glorifies Me and submits him/herself to Me.

***Note the first half is focused more on Allah and the second half is focused more on the believer***

  إِيَّاك نَعْبُدُ وإِيَّاكَ نَسْتَعِين

When a person says: You alone do we worship, and unto You alone do we turn for help.

Allah replies: This is shared between Me and My servant, and My servant will receive that which he/she asks.

 

 

 

So this is surah is not only the opening chapter of the Quran, but it is also a form of a conversation with Allah. It is also a duaa, so read it frequently.

According to a hadith, surah Fatihah is considered 2/3 of the Quran. [Al-Hakim?]

In another hadith, surah Fatihah is known as the “greatest surah.”

Surah Fatihah is also known as the Umm al Kitaab, “Mother of the Book,” and many Islamic ideals are in the verses.

Surah Fatihah should be read on the deceased and if a person reads surah Fatihah and Ikhlaas at night, insha ‘Allah, Allah gives His protection until morning.

I am getting really tired, so I’ll try to look for more notes on surah Fatihah later, but I just wanted to share at least this much so people can know how much barakah is in this surah and that people should say it often, not only just in prayer, but as a duaa, a form of communication with God, and other ways I can’t think of at the moment.

=) Again, innsha’ Allah, I’ll try to get back to this later.

  اهدِنَــــا الصِّرَاطَ المُستَقِيمَ  * صِرَاطَ الَّذِينَ أَنعَمتَ عَلَيهِمْ غَيرِ المَغضُوبِ عَلَيهِمْ وَلاَ الضَّالِّين  

 

When a person says: Guide us to the Straight Path. The path of those whom You have favored, not those who have incurred Your wrath, nor those who are astray.

Allah replies: All that comes back to My servant, and My servant will receive that for which he/she asks.

***Trying to get Arabic in this post is so confusing!***

 

Leave a Reply

