May 22, 2008

Random Quotes

Posted in Quotes at 2:18 pm by faith786

Random quotes I came across by either procrastinating a paper (ahem, ahem), not paying attention in class, or God knows how I found them. Some of them I found intuitive, others, funny. But I don’t know-any random quote I find, I’ll add it here-

“If we take the widest and wisest view of a Cause, there is no such thing as a Lost Cause, because there is no such thing as a Gained Cause. We fight for lost causes because we know that our defeat and dismay may be the preface to our successors’ victory, though that victory itself will be temporary; we fight rather to keep something alive than in the expectation that it will triumph.” —T.S. Eliot

“A man is but the product of his thoughts what he thinks, he becomes.” -Ghandi

“An error does not become truth by reason of multiplied propagation, nor does truth become error because nobody sees it.”-Ghandi

“An eye for eye only ends up making the whole world blind.”-Ghandi

“An ounce of practice is worth more than tons of preaching.”-Ghandi

“As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world – that is the myth of the atomic age – as in being able to remake ourselves.”-Ghandi (found a lot of quotes on him)

“Be the change you want to see in the world.”-Ghandi

“Each one has to find his peace from within. And peace to be real must be unaffected by outside circumstances.”-Ghandi

“As you get older three things happen. The first is your memory goes, and I can’t remember the other two…”
Sir Norman Wisdom
“A true friend is one who overlooks your failures and tolerates your success!”
Doug Larson
“A harmful truth is always better then…a useful lie!”
Eric Bolton

Deep Quote here:
“When I was a kid I used to pray every night for a new bike. Then I realized that The Lord doesn’t work that way, so I stole one and asked him to forgive me.”
Erno Philips

“ I only go to work on days that don’t end in a ‘y’.”
Robert Paul

“We spend the first twelve months of our children’s lives teaching them to walk and talk and the next twelve telling them to sit down and shut up.”
Phyllis Diller

“Laughter is the closest distance between two people.”
Victor Borge

“Start every day with a smile and get it over with.”
W.C. Fields

“Everything is funny as long as it is happening to somebody else.”
Will Rogers

“Always get married early in the morning. That way, if it doesn’t work out, you haven’t wasted a whole day.”-Mickey Rooney (I don’t advocate this statement, but I found it funny)

“Women now have choices. They can be married, not married, have a job, not have a job, be married with children, unmarried with children. Men have the same choice we’ve always had: work or prison.”
Tim Allen

“Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn’t.”
Erica Jong

“Don’t take life too seriously, you’ll never get out of it alive.”
Elbert Hubbard

“Always and never are two words you should always remember never to use.”
Wendell Johnson

“Have you noticed that all the people in favor of birth control are already born?”
Benny Hill

” Nothing is Impossible in this world. The word Impossible itself says I’m Possible”
Hussain Bhindarwala

More later….

*Updated*

“Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens.” -Jimi Hendrix

“I have often regretted my speech, never my silence.” -Xenocrates (396-314 B.C.)

(I laughed so hard when I read this one):

“Wise men make proverbs, but fools repeat them.” – Samuel Palmer

The following is unbelievably true in so many ways:

“Anything that is too stupid to be spoken is sung.” -Voltaire

“The difficulty of literature is not to write, but to write what you mean.” -Robert Stevenson

more later….

Leave a Reply

