May 22, 2008

A Note From My Younger Self

Posted in Character, Epiphanies, Faith786's Favorites, Islam, Tazkiyah at 2:32 pm by faith786

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

I found this in my room, and I thought it is worthy enough to the world to read.

I found my old journal that I had from 3rd grade. (It isn’t a real journal; it was more like observations and thoughts.) And I found this one page that was folded and written in bright blue ink. Apparently, my 3rd grade self had a message for my future (now present) self. I found it very interesting and a deep insight to child psychology. I think my younger self had a very thought provoking and intuitive message for the world of *adults.* I am taking an excerpt and I am copying it exactly the way it was written (so please forgive any grammatical errors):

“When ever you are reading this book, you might think of old memories and feel happy, sad, mad, or confused. But I realized something as a kid that I hope you never forget in the future. I may be in your past, but here is some advise: NEVER GIVE UP YOUR DREAMS! No matter how crazy, impossible, or weird they may be. Never give them up! As long as they are for Allah, and you mean well, NEVER THINK IT IS IMPOSSIBLE! DO IT! Say Bismillah and BELIEVE! If you think you can’t, then you really can’t. Think about all the great people in history-Aisha ra, she was an amazing teacher, without her, the image of women in Islam would be bad and we wouldn’t have all the knowledge we have. Think of Mother Terisa and all the good she did by taking care of people and helping other people be inspired. Think of Imam Al Ghazzzali and all the research and studying he did! These people changed the world and they were gifted by Allah, but they too, were like you. They were kids at some point, they had hope, and they prayed to God and Allah blessed them. If you believe, you can do it too. I’m in 3rd grade and kids are saying I can never be a great scholar, teacher, or engineer or that I am too dumb to help the world or that there is no hope for me. You have to kick them all out of your mind. If you cannot find hope in other people, find hope in yourself, find hope in me. But the ultimate source of hope is Allah. NEVER FORGET HIM. Everything will vanish, and only He will saty! He will will help you, I promise. Even is you keep messing up, He’ll help you. Listen to me, if anything you should take from your past, if anything you should ever learn from your memories, if anything you should take from childhood, it is hope. HOPE. BELIEVE YOU CAN. DON’T LISTEN TO ANYONE ELSE. ONLY ALLAH. Just remember to NEVER EVER GIVE UP. HAVE HOPE AND REACH FOR YOUR DREAMS!”

…Essentially, that was the important part. I think there are many things to take home from a 3rd grade version of myself. But that is up to you to determine.

4 Comments »

  1. laila algharbi said,

    Good heavens!

    It was an amaizing article and i came to believe that ALLAH always helps those who help themselves, so why should we lose hope and it is the only thing that we have…With Allah and Hope. a man can succed!

  2. faith786 said,

    Thank you. I do believe that I found this excerpt at a time I needed it. I just hope that I never forget it and I always trust Allah-consciously and unconsciously.

  3. Le Mystique said,

    Sorry if my repeated comments on different posts seem like stalking. But this was amazing. Absolutely brilliant. No exaggeration here.
    How could one write such an inspiring, motivational, full-of-faith in one’s self and God at such a young age? You are blessed and gifted. You can do wonders.
    When I was in the 3rd grade, I knew absolutely nothing about Al Ghazali, Mother Theresa. Had not even heard their names till then.
    I did not know or believed or understood such a simple-but-grand message of hope, faith, courage, love of God, and inspiration even a decade later perhaps if I could be brutally honest.
    Amazing. If refined a little bit, this piece of writing could easily get published in a well-respected magazine/paper.

  4. faith786 said,

    Oh no, thank you very much for commenting! It helps me know that someone is reading my blog entries. =)

    I am actually a rather poor writer ever since I was little. I only knew about these people because I would hear about them or read them in basic kids books. But Imam Al Ghazali is someone I think I knew ever since Kindergarden for all I remember.

    Thanks for checking out my blog and feel free to comment on any posts–be it comments or criticisms, I love to learn from others.

    –Faith786


Leave a Reply

