May 2, 2008

Literature Quotes!!!

Posted in Character, Faith786's Favorites, Knowledge, Literature, Quotes at 7:37 pm by faith786

Assalamu Alaikum,

What can I say-I love literature. I know many people may not like it, and to some degree, there are some unIslamic elements in literature, but there are also loads of Islamic lessons and universal truths in classic works. Here are a list of quotes from different works of literature that either I think are deep, funny, or somehow “struck a cord” with me. Hope you like some of them:

Our labor keeps us from three great evils– boredom, vice and want. -Candide, by Voltaire

Nothing to be done. -Waiting for Godot, by Samuel Beckett

To owe one’s life to a malefactor… to be, inspite of himself, on a level with a fugitive from justice…..to betray society in order to be true to his conscious; that all these absurdities… should accumulate on himself–this is what prostrated him. -Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo

“Your emotions never seem in proportinon to their objects, Aziz.” “Is emotion a sack of potatoes, so much a pound, to be measured out? Am I a machine?” -A Passage to India, by Thomas Forrester ( I think)

“We are all of us born in moral stupidity, taking this world as an udder to feed our supreme selves.” -Middlemarch, by George Elliot (a.k.a Mary Ann Evans) (Didn’t finish reading the book.)

Whoever controls the past, controls the future. Whoever controls the present, controls the past. -1984, by George Orwell (<3 1984, and I normally never make heart symbols.)*

The years that are gone seem like dreams–if one might go on sleeping and dreaming–but to wake up and find–oh! well! Perhaps it is better to wake up after all, even to suffer, rather than to remain dupe to illusions all one’s life. -The Awakening, by Kate Chopin

Nothing exists except in human consciousness. -1984, by George Orwell (life changing quote)*

Si tu savais. -The Awakening, by Kate Chopin

“I hope she will be a fool–that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.” -The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

“Unhappy that I am, I cannot heave/ My heart into my mouth. I love your majesty/ According to my bond; no more, no less.” -King Lear, Shakespeare

–A hundred times I wanted to kill myself, but I always loved life more. This ridiculous weakness is perhaps one of our worst insticts; is anything more stupid than choosing to carry a burden that really one wants to cast to the ground? To hold existence to horror, and yet cling to it? To fondle the serpent which devours us till it has eaten out our heart? -Candide, by Voltaire

Everyone works for everyone else. We can’t do without anyone. Even Epsilons [lowest intelligent humans] are useful. We couldn’t do without Epsilons. We can’t do without anyone…. -Brave New World, by Alduous Huxley

Things fall apart; the center cannot hold; / Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world. – “The Second Coming”, poem by Yeats, but it is in the novel Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe

“Even the smooth surface of family union seems worth preserving, though there maybe nothing durable beneath. -Persuasion, by Jane Austen*

“Where is God? What is God?” -Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte*

All families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way. -Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy

“All right then, I’ll go to hell.” -The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain ( I LOVE THIS MOMENT IN THE BOOK)

“I deserve the best treatment because I have never put with any other.” Emma, by Jane Austen

All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others. -Animal Farm, by George Orwell

“It is our own vanity that deceives us.” -Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen*

O thou who desirest to reach the station/ Take my advice and learn patience./ An Arab horse gallops twice in a race,/ A camel ambles gently night and day. -The Rose Garden, by Sa’di (I know it isn’t literature, but I nearly classify it because it was in my AP Lit letter.)

For he would say it in so many words, when he came into the room. Because it is a thousand pities never to say what one feels. -Mrs. Dalloway, by Virgina Woolf

The rest is silence. -Hamlet, by Shakespeare*

If you die without loss, you are eternal.- Tao Te Ching (East Asian Lit, okay?)

By desiring what is perfectly good, even when we don’t quite know what it is and cannot do what we would, we are part of the divine power against evil–widening the skirts of light and making the struggle for darkness narrower. -Middlemarch by George Elliot

“I have given you my soul, leave me my name!” -The Crucible, by Arthur Miller

Human nature needs more lessons than a weekly sermon can convey. -Mansfield Park, by JANE AUSTEN (Shalaby, lol)

“Pride relates more to our opion of ourselves; vanity to what we would have others think of us.” -Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen*

There is neither happiness nor misery in the world, there is only the comparison of one state with another, nothing more. He who has felt the deepest grief is best able to experience supreme happiness. -The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexander Dumas

“What a piece of work is man,/ how noble in reason, now infinite in/ faculties, in form and moving how/ express and admirable, in action how/ like an angel, in apprehension, how/ like a god! the beauty of the world! the/ paragon or animals! And yet, to me, what/ is this quintessence of dust?” -Hamlet, Shakespeare*

In this country, it is necessary, now and then, to put one admiral to death in order to inspire the others to fight. -Candide, by Voltaire

“Are you honest? Are you fair?” -Hamlet, by Shakespeare*

It’s difficult in times like these: ideals, dreams and cherished hopes rise within us, only to be crushed by grim reality. It’s a wonder I haven’t abandoned all my ideals, they seem so absurd and impractical. Yet I cling to them because I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart. -The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank ( I LOVED this book as a kid)

The mass of men lead lives of quite desperation. -Walden, by Henry David Thoreau (Never finished reading it)

Self-trust is the essence of heroism. -Collection of Emerson’s Essays, by Ralph Waldo Emerson (does that count as lit?)

WAR IS PEACE/ FREEDOM IS SLAVERY/ IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH -1984, by George Orwell*

DOWN WITH BIG BROTHER -1984, by George Orwell (Ali-AP Lit)*

“We are the priests of power,” he [O’ Brien] said, “God is power.” -1984, by George Orwell*

TWO AND TWO MAKE FIVE -1984, by George Orwell*

GOD IS POWER -1984, by George Orwell*

The primary aim of modern welfare (in accordance with the principles of doublethink, this aim is simulatneously recognized by the directing brains of the Inner Party) is to use up the products of the machine without raising the general standard of living. -1984, by George Orwell*

BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU -1984, by George Orwell*

And when memory failed and written records falsified–when that happened, the claim of the Party to have improved the condition of human life had got to be accepted, because there did not exist and never again could exist, a standard against which it could be tested. -1984, by George Orwell*

I JUST LOVE 1984!!! I COULD QUOTE THE WHOLE LAST THIRD OF THE BOOK!

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife. -Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen*

(The quotes I want to put up for Jane Eyre are paragraphs, so I’ll type those later.)

This next quote I just find to be really funny because it is totally true about my ‘friends’:

A lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony, in a moment. -Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen*

When angry, count four; when very agnry, swear. -The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson, by Mark Twain (I read this book when I was really little)

Often, the less there is to justify a traditional custom, the harder it is to get rid of it. -The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, by Mark Twain

The dew seemed to sparkle more brightly on the green leaves; the air to rustle among them with a sweeter music; and the sky itself to look more blue and bright. Such is the influence which the condition of our own thoughts, exercise, even over the appearance of external objects. -Oliver Twist, by Charles Dickens

To go wrong in one’s own way is better than to go right in someone else’s. -Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

…okay, enough quotes for now. I’ll add more later. Tell me which one’s you like/hate/ or any you want to add.

*books I covered in AP English Literature (I have an attachment to those books, what can I say?-Actually, I didn’t like Beowulf that much….)

OMG! How could I forget? The book Rama told to buy the day of our AP Lit exam-The Idiot? (Actually, I almost completely forgotten the book. I need to reread it-I found these quotes on a slip of paper in my room.)

His mind and heart were flooded with extraordinary light; all torment, all doubt, all anxieties were relieved at once, resolved in a kind of lofty calm, full of serene, harmonious joy and hope, full of understanding and the knowledge of the ultimate cause of things. -The Idiot, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I don’t understand how one can walk by a tree and not be happy at the sight of it! Or to speak with a man and not be happy in loving him? There are so many things at every step so beautiful. -The Idiot, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

What is in all this beauty for me when every minute, every second I am obliged, forced to know that even this tiny gnat, buzzing near me in the sunlight now, is taking part in all this banquet and chorus, knows its place in it, loves it, and is happy, and I alone am an outcast. -The Idiot, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

3 Comments »

  1. dabinl10 said,

    cool post!!!!
    this is really cool!
    may i use some of them for my own blog?

  2. faith786 said,

    Sure! Sorry for not replying sooner; I am working on moving my old blog here, and I am in the midst of finals at the same time. I hope by July 1st the moving will be complete.

    But by all means, these are quotes from great books, so don’t hesitate to share them!

  3. Ben said,

    hey,

    do you think you could give me some insight into some quotes about universal truths from 1984 (the book)


Leave a Reply

